So today I need to learn some multivariate calculus to use it for my other courses (somehow my first year calculus didn’t teach multivariate operators, and I didn’t have any chance or interest in taking an extra calculus course). I went to MIT OCW to watch a few lectures.

This is not my first time doing so. In my freshman year, I also used it to learn linear algebra from Gilbert Strang. Last year there were a few free classes offered by Stanford in AI and ML. Anyway, out of all those times, I got this impression.

Not all MIT students are smart. Some gave really silly questions. And the lectures were not hard at all. Instead, they were really easy to follow. They capture the concepts, and bring in intuition and new questions. An average student would have no problem following the classes, and the better students would probably skip the classes since it’s too slow for them.

There was one point where the lecturer asked if any person cannot see the figure properly due to color blindness. At that point it was clear to me. Education is not about humiliation. It is an enabler: to the poor, the blind, or the deaf… A perfect class would give a chance for everyone to excel, given a wide variety of background people lie in. The wider background the class can cope with, the more successful it is in its mission.

